World War I

Standard

Taking the opportunity to learn about the first World War. Day one of fighting occurred 100 years ago and I thought it would be respectful to for me to learn about our history, which saw 60,000 Australians give up their lives.

Who knows in another life maybe I would have had to fight in a war? Perhaps I could have been one of those 60,000 to perish? Conscription in Australia ended in 1972 when Gough Whitlam came into power. I have always wondered how different my life would be had I done some time in the defence force, maybe in the reserves.  How would I have fared? Maybe I should count myself lucky….

ShrineAug

I am committed to attending the ANZAC Day Dawn Service next year.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

