Reaching Out

Standard

I recall while working at my previous organisation, the term “reaching out” was highly popularised. I would hear it said almost every single day.  Of course, it was supposed to mean, either trying to establish contact, seeking help orguidance, or making it seem like extra efforts were made to do more than what was initially expected of someone. But, the thing that got me was that people use to say “reach out” and it was evident that it meant nothing. I would hear it said and not understand why people would think they could make that trademark statement to make themselves look good?

I took it upon myself to reach out to people who I normally wouldnt and see what I could do to help them.  At the time of writing there were no open volunteer positions for the “Independent Prison Visitor Scheme”. The cut off for the “Victorian Association for the Care and Resettlement of Offenders” had also been just missed. The actual item on the list was to visit someone on death row or in a life sentence. Obviously, it is a bit hard at present, however this item will be revisited.

 

http://www.corrections.vic.gov.au/utility/volunteering/

http://www.corrections.vic.gov.au/home/prison/contacting+a+prisoner/index.html

Leave a Reply

